April Showers Bring May Flowers

Happy Earth Day! To celebrate Earth Day, I decided to share a fun dessert recipe, which is perfect for today or any spring gathering, birthday party, bridal shower, etc.  I was in charge of planning my bestie’s bridal shower (MOH duties), and I chose to make this recipe for her garden-themed bridal shower a few weeks ago.

So, what did I make?? GF dirt pudding cups! Ok, so I’ll admit that this isn’t the healthiest dessert I’ve ever made, but it’s too cute and delicious not to share! And hey, don’t feel guilty to treat yourself every once in awhile.

This dessert is 100% inspired by Pinterest since I saw something pretty similar on multiple Pinterest accounts. I just improvised a little and turned them into gluten-free dirt pudding cups, so I knew I would have something to enjoy while dessert was being served at the shower. Although we had planned for close to 50 guests to attend, I knew there would be plenty of other filling desserts and decided to only make 30 individual dirt pudding cups, which was just the right amount.

I used Kinnikinnick KinniToos GF Chocolate Sandwich Creme Cookies for the topping–they seriously taste so much like Oreo cookies.  None of the guests at the shower had any idea that they were GF! Also, a few of the guests didn’t even realize these treats were edible because they look so much like real plants. True story. I mean they do look pretty authentic, but there’s definitely a chance those guests may have had one too many mimosas.

Anyway, these were a hit and turned out so much better than expected, considering I was running a little behind the morning of the bridal shower (oops). Luckily, my mom helped me assemble the cups to perfection, which was much appreciated. Thanks Mom! (She’ll probably never see this post, but I just wanted to give her a shout-out anyway.)

To make your own edible potted plants, check out my recipe below:

IMG_5512

Gluten-Free Dirt Pudding Cups                                                                 

*Makes ~30 individual cups*

Ingredients:

  • 20 cups (160 ounces) chilled chocolate pudding {You can either use pre-made GF chocolate pudding or make your own using GF instant chocolate pudding mix}
  • 8-oz. container of thawed Cool Whip (or similar whipped topping) {I first tried a sample cup without the Cool Whip and found the taste to be much too chocolate-y, which I didn’t even think was possible. The Cool Whip definitely tones down the rich chocolate taste and makes the texture more light, airy, and slightly mousse-like.}
  • 1 package of GF chocolate cream-filled sandwich cookies (Oreo-type cookies, but not Oreos since they aren’t GF) {I’ve tried a couple of GF brands and personally prefer Kinnikinnick KinniToos GF Chocolate Sandwich Creme Cookies}
  • Fresh mint leaves {usually sold as 1 bunch, which should be plenty}

Directions: 

  1. Make chocolate pudding in several large bowls (I needed 3 bowls!) by following directions on instant pudding mix package, or spoon contents of pre-made chocolate pudding into several large bowls. Whether or not you make your own chocolate pudding from an instant pudding mix or simply use pre-made packages of chocolate pudding, make sure you start with chocolate pudding that has been chilled in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours.
  2. Combine chilled chocolate pudding and thawed whipped topping/Cool Whip divided into several large bowls and mix well. (Optional step: mix GF cookie crumbs directly into pudding mixture to make the dirt pudding even dirtier. I didn’t do this step because I was satisfied with just a top layer of cookie crumbs and liked the cleaner look, although many traditional dirt pudding recipes do include this step. If you choose to do this step, you may need another package of GF chocolate sandwich cookies.) 
  3. Spoon pudding mixture into 8-ounce clear plastic cups; fill cups about two-thirds full with pudding and smooth the top of pudding.
  4. Add crumbled GF cookies to the top of the pudding mixture, covering completely, and press down gently to create an even layer.
  5. Stick a sprig of fresh mint into the center of each cup.
  6. Serve immediately, or refrigerate until ready to serve.
  7. Enjoy!

Don’t forget to show our earth some love and recycle the plastic cups when you’re finished! 🙂

~Lauren~

Leave a Reply

