Acai Something Delicious and Nutritious

Acai something delicious and nutritious. Confused? Allow me to explain…acai is pronounced ah-sah-EE, which sounds like “I see.” So, acai (I see) something delicious and nutritious. I bet you’re thinking acai what you did there. Ok, I’ll stop now with the bad puns. But for real, what I see is an acai bowl, which is amazing and you should try one, if you haven’t already. The acai berry itself, which is native to the rainforests of South America, is rich in antioxidants and balanced in essential fatty acids (omega 3 and omega 6) and non-essential fatty acids (omega 9). Plus, adding toppings of fruit, nuts, and seeds to your acai bowl packs an extra punch of nutrients.

Acai bowls definitely aren’t the latest trend. People have been enjoying them for the past couple of years. But, I don’t think they are going away anytime soon. Thank goodness. I’ve had my fair share of acai bowls from various juice bars, brunch spots, and cafes. But, I’ve always been a little intimidated to create my own acai bowl masterpiece at home. This perfect spring weather inspired my first attempt at making an acai bowl in my own kitchen. It might not look as pretty as some of the ones I’ve purchased, but it sure was delicious and nutritious. To make your own acai bowl at home, consider following my recipe below!

IMG_5376

Acai Bowl                                                                                                            

*Makes 1 serving*

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of frozen acai berry mix (I used Sambazon Original Blend Acai Berry + Guarana Superfruit Pack; this company makes several varieties including a “Supergreens” version, which contains kale and spinach puree. Definitely need to try that flavor!)
  • ¼ cup non-dairy milk or coconut water (coconut milk or unsweetened almond milk work well; I used coconut milk for this particular recipe)
  • 1 medium-sized banana
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries (I used frozen strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries; any combination of berries should taste good)
  • Optional GF toppings: fresh fruit, shredded unsweetened coconut, cacao nibs, chia seeds, hemp hearts, nuts, nut butter, GF granola, GF protein bar (I used banana slices from the other ½ of my banana, fresh strawberries, unsweetened coconut, and Viki’s Blueberry Almond GF Granola)
  • **Note: Make sure you use some type of frozen fruit in your base to create desired consistency. If you only use fresh fruit, the base may be too runny.

Directions: 

  1. Follow directions on acai mix packet, which indicate that the packet should be placed under running water (I found it best to use water that’s at room temperature) before opening packet and adding the contents to the blender.
  2. Add one acai mix packet, choice of liquid (dairy-free milk or coconut water), ½ banana, and frozen mixed berries to high-speed blender, and blend well.
  3. Pour mixture into a bowl and add desired toppings.
  4. Enjoy this yummy GF treat!

~Lauren~

2 Comments Add yours

  1. anjage says:

    I have never heard of acai berries before, but Im gna look for it in the local stores now 😀 thanks for sharing and have a lovely Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I hope you’re able to find it in your local store! Just a heads up, I’ve never seen fresh acai berries sold in grocery stores, but I know that they are usually sold as packets of frozen acai puree. I’ve also seen acai powder and acai juice. Enjoy! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

