Sunday Spotlight #3

So, remember when I said that I was going to post an edition of “Sunday Spotlight” every Sunday? Well, clearly I didn’t think that one through. You may have noticed that I didn’t post about any gluten-free products last week, but I did post a recipe for a killer green smoothie. Since I typically only post to my blog on a weekly basis, I have decided to write my “Sunday Spotlight” posts on select Sundays (instead of every Sunday like I had originally planned). This way I can continue to post recipes, restaurant reviews, and more fun stuff during the weeks that I’m not reviewing my favorite GF products. Whew. Now that we cleared that up, let’s talk about this week’s incredible GF find!

I tried The Epic Seed Greek Yogurt + Chia for the first time this week and I’m loving it! The name says it all…this yogurt is EPIC. The creamy Greek yogurt is layered on top of a hydrated chia seed and fruit base (fun fact: when chia seeds are combined with water, they form a gel). The Greek yogurt/chia seed combo is perfect naturally gluten free and packed with nutrients. Chia seeds may be small, but don’t let their size fool you. They are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, calcium, potassium, magnesium, iron, fiber, protein, and antioxidants. The Greek yogurt itself is a good source of protein and calcium. Plus, the probiotics found in Greek yogurt help us to maintain a healthy gut, which is especially important for my fellow celiacs out there.

FullSizeRender (8)

Besides being rich in nutrients, this yogurt is delicious. I was able to try the coconut, strawberry, and blueberry flavors. (I would have also tried the blackberry, peach, and vanilla flavors, if they had been available at my local supermarket.) It’s all good though because the three flavors that I did try were amazing. They were all very tasty and fruity without being too sweet.

Although this yogurt tastes delicious on its own, I decided to top the coconut yogurt with even more goodness (bananas, blueberries, crunchy peanut butter, and cinnamon). Definitely a great breakfast or mid-day snack!

Check out The Epic Seed yogurt, and let me know what you think. And, be sure to check back on select Sundays to discover more amazing GF finds!

~Lauren~

Leave a Reply

