Sunday Spotlight #1

While there are occasionally some gluten-free products that we may stumble upon that are less than desirable, we have to admit that these items have come a longggg way in terms of flavor and palatability. Now, there are so many GF products to choose from that it can be hard to find the best ones on the market. So, I have decided to shine the spotlight on some of my favorite gluten-free finds! I will be posting about some of my faves weekly, so be sure to check back every Sunday to discover some great GF products.

First, let me tell you about my love for Nature Path’s Organic GF Pumpkin Spice Waffles. These may seem like a seasonal product, but trust me, I have been enjoying them every season and they seem to be available in many stores throughout the year. I love the flavor and texture of these certified GF waffles, and the wholesome ingredients make me smile. I appreciate that these waffles actually contain pumpkin puree and not just a highly processed pumpkin flavor found in many packaged foods. These waffles also contain quinoa and amaranth, which are considered ancient grains that are rich in nutrients and high in fiber. Plus, they are also made with flax seeds, and how can you go wrong with flax? You literally can’t. Flax seeds are rich in omega-3 fatty acids and lignans, which both have antioxidant properties. Nature’s Path makes several other flavors of waffles that I still need to try. My sister is a big fan of their GF Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles. For now, I’m pretty satisfied starting my morning off with the taste of fall, no matter the season.

img_4266

Another great GF find that I would love to share with you is Pamela’s Vanilla Cake Mix. I used this awesome GF mix to make cupcakes and they turned out so tasty! I topped these vanilla cupcakes with either buttercream or dark chocolate frosting, and I added some fresh raspberries too. I love how the taste, smell, and texture of these GF cupcakes resembled regular (gluten-containing) cupcakes. I’ve tasted GF cupcakes from a couple of bakeries that looked delicious, but they were dry and tasted super floury and even slightly metallic. That was definitely not the case with these flavorful and moist cupcakes. Pamela’s makes a variety of products and mixes (all of which are GF), and I’ve heard great things about all of them. I’m not quite sure what took me so long to try one of their products, but I’m so glad that I finally did!

img_5052

Dang Coconut Chips (aka my latest obsession) is my last featured product of the week. They come in a variety of flavors, all of which are gluten free (yay!). It didn’t take long for me to devour a bag of the caramel sea salt flavor. These crunchy chips are toasted (not fried) and this flavor contains only three ingredients—coconut (duh), coconut sugar, and sea salt. Coconut sugar is a natural sweetener that gives these chips a caramelized flavor and can satisfy any sweet tooth. These are tasty straight outta the bag, or you could add them to a nut-based trail mix or use them as a topping for yogurt, oatmeal, or smoothie bowls. I chose to sprinkle some onto Siggi’s Non-Fat Vanilla Yogurt (a yummy GF Icelandic-style yogurt) and added fresh raspberries and walnuts for a delicious and healthy combination.

img_5076

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoy these gluten-free products as much as I do. Be sure to check back next week for another round of faves.

~Lauren~

Leave a Reply

