Quinoa Breakfast Bowl

Quinoa for breakfast?? Yes, please!! If you haven’t jumped on the quinoa bandwagon yet, what are you waiting for? Quinoa is naturally gluten free and has a nutty, slightly bitter taste on its own, but I find that it tends to take on whatever flavor it is mixed with. I’ve been on a quinoa kick this week and had some leftover from the day before, so I decided to reheat it in the morning and try it for breakfast. I’ve never heard of anyone doing this before, but I figured it would be similar to making a bowl of oatmeal and topping it with fruit and nuts. I think I just found my new favorite breakfast food!

To make this delicious quinoa breakfast bowl, I simply combined the ingredients listed below:

  • ½ cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 small banana (sliced)
  • ¼ cup shelled walnuts
  • 2 tbsp. chunky peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp. dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp. Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels (certified GF and free from the top 8 allergens)

You can also top your bowl with sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, fresh berries, apple slices, almond butter, Greek yogurt, GF granola…the options for toppings are endless! Plus, this breakfast provides the perfect combo of protein and carbohydrates, which will give you the energy you need to get through the holiday season—from last-minute Christmas shopping to dinner with the in-laws!

img_4868

Enjoy! Happy Holidays!!

~Lauren~

8 Comments Add yours

  1. threebrits says:

    Never thought of having quinoa for breakfast, gonna have to try this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cookiesnchem says:

    Beautiful idea. This looks delicious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. elliebleu says:

    I love quinoa but never had it for breakfast. I love that you added chocolate and PB. This looks like a perfect meal to start off the day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love quinoa too and figured there was no reason why it couldn’t be a breakfast food! This was my first time eating it for breakfast, and I really enjoyed it! I just reheated leftover quinoa from the day before and added toppings. Super easy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. elliebleu says:

        Such a great idea! I read somewhere that quinoa is a complete protein. So this is going to replace eggs for me as a healthy breakfast.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, quinoa is a complete protein! Enjoy!!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

